Learn how to build clear, inclusive, and fully compliant PDF documents by following the STARS framework.
STARS Framework
Design Accessible content with STARS
S - Structure & Headings
T- Text, Fonts, & Spacing
A- Alt Text
R - Readability & Hyperlinks
S- Saving & Final Steps
Document Settings and Metadata
Source Document: PDFs are static documents, not intended to be edited in Adobe Pro. Therefore, when possible, make sure to create accessible content in the original source application (such as Microsoft Word or Google Docs). Before exporting to PDF.
Add Document Title & Metadata
- Go to File > Properties > Description tab. Enter a descriptive Title, Author, Subject, and Keywords.
- Properties dialog box>Select Initial View Tab. Under windows options, verify the Show dropdown is set to Document Title (instead of File Name).
Set Primary Document Language: Go to File > Properties > Advanced tab. Under Reading Options, select the primary language (e.g., English) from the Language dropdown menu
Adobe Acrobat Pro Navigation
Essential Navigation Panels: Open key remediation panels by clicking View > Show/Hide > Navigation Panes or right-clicking the left sidebar menu:
Tags Panel: Displays the structural tag tree. Screen readers rely on tags to determine the reading order and navigation.
Resource: Section 508 Common PDF Tags, includes detailed tag descriptions and use cases.
Order Panel: Provides a visual of the reading order elements of each page.
Content Panel: Displays the content structure such as text and images.
Accessibility Tools: Access tools such as full-check, Set Alternative Text and Reading Order via All Tools, Prepare for Accessibility.
How to Tag Content
Tagging content can be accomplished by using the Create Tag from Selection or Reading Order Tool method.
Create Tag from Selection Method: Highlight content on the document page using the selection tool, right-click the target container tag in the Tags Panel, choose Create Tag from Selection (or New Tag), and select the appropriate tag element type (e.g., <P>, <H1>–<H6>, <Table>)
Reading Order Tool Method: Open Tools > Accessibility > Reading Order. Drag a selection box over any text, heading, or visual element on the page, then click the corresponding button in the Reading Order dialog (e.g., Text, Heading 1–6, Figure, or Table) to instantly apply the tag.
Changing Tag Types: In the Tags Panel, right-click any existing tag, select Properties, and choose a new tag classification from the Type dropdown menu.
S-Structure: Headings and Reading order
+
Use Heading Level 1 for Title : Use a Heading Level 1, <H1> for the title only.
Heading Hierarchy: Follow a logical order (Heading 1 → Heading 2 → Heading 3). without skip heading levels (e.g., going straight from Heading 1 to Heading 3).
Logical Reading Order: Review the tags from left to right and top to bottom. Verify that all content is tagged in the correct order.
Artifact Content: Extra-spaces or decorative boards that do not provide context to the content should be artifact.
T-Text: Scan & OCR
+
Scanned documents are recognized as image-only PDFs and are completely inaccessible to screen readers. Optical Character Recognition (OCR) software can be used to recognize the text. OCR must be completed, before editing a PDF for accessibility.
- Go to Tools > Scan & OCR > Recognize Text > In This File.
- Set the primary document language and output option to Searchable Image or Editable Text and Images, then click Recognize Text.
- DPI Setting Adjustment: If OCR does not work or produces low-quality text recognition, adjust DPI settings from default to 300 DPI (or higher) in Scan & OCR settings prior to running text recognition.
- Use Correct Recognized Text under Scan & OCR options to clean up misspelled words or OCR artifact
- Need additional support: Submit a request to the Office of Digital Accessibility
A-Alternative Text
+
Add a clear and concise text description for images, graphics, and logos in Adobe Pro.
Verify image Tag: The image tag is a <Figure> tag which can be applied to an image in the tags panel.
Add Alt Tex: right click any <Figure> tag in the Tags Panel, select Properties, and enter a clear description under Alternate Text.
Concise Description: In the alternative text field, add 1-2 sentences describing the image’s context.
R-Readability & Hyperlinks
+
Verify link Structure: The hyperlink structure uses a <Link> tag. The <Link> tag is nested under a paragraph tag <P> and an Link-OBJR tag is nested under the Link tag.
Text Description for Links: Right-Click on the link tag and select Properties. Apply a description for the link, in Alternative Text for Links Field, such as” UIS Admissions opens in a web browser.”
Color Contrast:Verify high visual contrast between text and background colors (minimum 4.5:1 ratio for standard text).
Color Contrast Checker: The WebAim Color Contrast Checker can be used to verify the contrast.
S-Structure: Tables
+
Verify Table Structure: The tag structure for a table: <Table>, <TR> (Table Row), <TH) (Table Header Cell), <TD> (Table Data Cell)
Table Configuration in Table Editor:
- Open the Reading Order Tool, right-click the table, and select Table Editor.
- Define the Scope: Choose Row for Headers cells that are in a row and Column for Headers that are in a column.Choose Both for Header cells that are a column and row.
- The Header Cells will be shaded as red, and the data cell will be identified as grey.
Add a Table Summary: Open Tools > Accessibility > Reading Order, right-click the table, and select Table Summary. Add a clear and concise description of the table format and description of the table.
Saving and Final Steps
+
Review the PDF for accessibility errors and use an accessibility Checker. Accessibility checkers will identify structural errors, but a manual review is recommended to correct errors such as reading order, tag structure, and color contrast.
Run Adobe Accessibility Check:
- Go to Tools > Accessibility > Full Check. Click Start Checking.
- Review the Accessibility Checker panel for issues. Right-click failures to select Fix or view instructions.
PAC 2026: A third party checker compatible for (Windows) that can be used to verify structural tags, PDF/UA compliance, and technical standards within a PDF document. Visit PAC website to Download PAC 2026.
Screen Readers:
- NVDA: A free, open-source screen reader for Windows that allows creators to test whether PDF content, tags, alt text, and reading order are interpreted correctly. Visit the NVDA website to download NVDA.
- VoiceOver:A built-in screen reader native to Apple operating systems (macOS, iOS, iPadOS) used to test screen reading playback, document structure, and accessibility navigation on Mac and iOS devices. No download is required; enable VoiceOver in System Settings > Accessibility or press Command + F5.

